Universal Classic Monsters on Blu Ray

Universal Pictures has just set a release date for Universal Classic Monsters: The Essential Collection on Blu Ray.

The eight (or nine, if you count the Spanish language Dracula) film set will be released on October 2, 2012 for $159.98.

Included in the set are: Dracula (1931), Frankenstein (1931), The Mummy (1932), The Invisible Man (1933), Bride of Frankenstein (1935), The Wolf Man (1941), Phantom of the Opera (1943), Creature from the Black Lagoon (3-D, 1954)


All of the films in the set, with the exception of Phantom, had numerous sequels (and a number of cross-overs) which are not present here.  Back when these were released on DVD, Universal issued these notable films first, and then, several years later, re-released the films in ‘legacy’ collections which contained these movies along with all of their sequels.

So, it’s up to you if you want to get this now, or wait to see if there’s a more complete version later on; though I wouldn’t take that as a given, considering the state of the home video market.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s