Marvel Movie Universe Phase 2 Revealed

The next slate of Marvel films, leading up to The Avengers 2, was revealed during Marvel’s Comic Con 2012 panel.

First up is Iron Man 3, to be release May 3, 2013.  Marvel confirmed that Ben Kingsley would be playing the villain Mandarin.


Next will come Thor: The Dark World on November 8, 2013.  Alan Taylor (Game of Thrones) will direct.  Captain America: The Winter Soldier follows on April 4, 2014.

Marvel’s new entry into the universe will be Guardians of Galaxy, a little know (outside of comic circles) series about a team of superheroes that come from the future back to our time to prevent some catastrophe.  The team line up has changed since its debut in 1969, but the film’s guardians will be Groot, Frax, Rocket Racoon, Gamorra, and Star Lord.

Lastly, Marvel teased (but didn’t announce) Ant-Man, who was one of the original members of The Avengers, and a logical addition to the universe.  Presumptive director Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead) showed off some test footage he had done for the film.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s